Articles

Strategic stability in its classical sense – understood as a state of US-Russian relations under which neither side has incentives to launch a first nuclear strike – was developed during the Cold War. Such stability is achieved by “seeking agreements that improve survivability, remove incentives for...

In 2019, the third session of the 2020 NPT Review Conference Preparatory Committee will take place in New York. Malaysian diplomat, Muhammad Shahrul Ikram Yaakob, was chosen to serve as its Chair. In its interview to PIR Center Consultant Andrey Baklitsky for Yaderny Kontrol (Nuclear Control) bullet...

On October 20, 2018, President Donald Trump announced that the United States is going to withdraw from the Intermediate-Range Nuclear Forces Treaty (INF Treaty). Many experts assumed that that Trump’s decision was caused not by the accusations that Russia violated the treaty but by concerns about Ch...

Russian and American experts have widely assumed that on July 16, 2018, one of the issues that may come up during the Russia-US summit in Helsinki is arms control. Unlike many other issues, it would also be a less controversial topic for the US administration battled by the accusations of “collusion...

All articles

News

31.03.2020

On March 12, 2020, a workshop “50 Years after Ratification of the NPT by the Soviet Union and its Entry into Force: Lessons Learned and Prospects for Strengthening of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Regime” took place. The event was co-sponsored by the PIR Center and the Institute of Contemporary International Studies (ICIS) at the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian MFA.

10.02.2020

"Strategic stability in its classical sense – understood as a state of US- Russian relations under which neither side has incentives to launch a first nuclear strike – was developed during the Cold War", - a consultant at PIR Center Andrey Baklitskiy

This paper has been produced for the joint PIR Center – CSIS project “Reducing nuclear risks during Great Powers Competition”. We thank our partners in CSIS for their cooperation and support for this publication

07.02.2020

“On the night of January 3, 2020, the US Air Force killed an Iranian general, the head of the special forces of the IRGC, Qasem Soleimani, in Baghdad. In response, Iran launched a missile attack on two US bases in Iraq and announced the fifth and final stage of reducing commitments under the JCPOA. Despite bombastic headlines in the media (some were subsequently deleted), Iran continued to cooperate with the IAEA inspectors and suspended the 60-day cycles of reducing its commitments under the agreement "- this is the main note of the 519th issue of the Yaderny Kontrol bulletin.

All News

Expert

Baklitskiy, Andrey A. image
Name: Baklitskiy, Andrey A.
City: Moscow
Affiliation: PIR Center
Position: Consultant
Expertise:
Nuclear power in the Middle East
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Iranian nuclear program
Middle East
Biography :

Researcher of the Center for Global Problems and International Organizations of the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Foreign Ministry. Graduated from the Faculty of the International Relations of the Urals Federal University. Holds specialist degree in regional studies and simultaneous interpreter diploma. In the years 2008-2009 took a course at the University of Seville (Spain). PIR Center intern in May-July, 2011. In 2011-2013 PIR Center Internet Project Director, Information Program Director since 2013. In 2014-2017 PIR Center "Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation" Program Director. Took part in the sessions of the NPT Preparatory Committee in 2013-2014. Editor of PIR Center White Paper "Ten Steps toward a Weapons of Mass Destruction-Free Zone in the Middle East". The sphere of scientific interest includes international security, bigger Middle East, nuclear energy sector and nonproliferation.  09/17

Expert's commentaries

Strategic stability in its classical sense – understood as a state of US-Russian relations under which neither side has incentives to launch a first nuclear strike – was developed during the Cold War. Such stability is achieved by “seeking agreements that improve survivability, remove incentives for...

All articles
loading

Статьи

Стратегическая стабильность в ее классическом понимании – состояние отношений между Россией и США, при котором у сторон отсутствуют стимулы для нанесения первого ядерного удара – была выработана между двумя странами в ходе холодной войны. Такого рода стабильность обеспечивается путем действий, «повы...

В 2019 году пройдет третья сессия Подготовительного комитета Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2020 года. Его председателем был выбран малайзийский дипломат Мухамад Шахрул Икрам Яакоб. В интервью консультанту ПИР-Центра Андрею Баклицкому для «Ядерного Контроля» он рассказал о том, каким образом видит свои з...

20 октября президент США Дональд Трамп заявил, что Соединенные Штаты намерены выйти из российско-американского Договора о ликвидации ракет средней и меньшей дальности (ДРСМД). Многие эксперты высказали предположение, что решение Трампа объясняется не обвинением России в нарушении договора, а опасени...

Андрей Баклицкий

Russian and American experts have widely assumed that on July 16, 2018, one of the issues that may come up during the Russia-US summit in Helsinki is arms control. Unlike many other issues, it would also be a less controversial topic for the US administration battled by the accusations of “collusion...

Андрей Баклицкий

The future of the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA) may soon be clarified. There is little doubt in Tehran that US will withdraw from the JCPOA. PIR Center consultant Andrey Baklitskiy, who had recently visited Teheran for participating in Russian-Iranian Dialogue, shares his view on the fu...

Все Статьи

Новости

10.02.2020

«Стратегическая стабильность в ее классическом понимании – состояние отношений между Россией и США, при котором у сторон отсутствуют стимулы для нанесения первого ядерного удара – была выработана между двумя странами в ходе холодной войны», – консультант ПИР-Центра Андрей Баклицкий.

Статья была подготовлена в рамках совместного проекта ПИР-Центра и Центра стратегических и международных исследований (CSIS, Вашингтон) «Как снизить риски ядерной конфронтации в условиях возрастающего соперничеств ядерных держав?». Благодарим наших партнеров в CSIS за сотрудничество и поддержу данной публикации.

07.02.2020

"В ночь на 3 января 2020 года американские ВВС убили в Багдаде иранского генерала, руководителя сил спецопераций КСИР Касема Солеймани. В ответ Иран нанес ракетный удар по двух американским базам в Ираке и объявил о пятом и заключительном этапе сокращения обязательств по СВПД. Несмотря на громкие заголовки в СМИ (некоторые были впоследствии удалены), Иран продолжил сотрудничать с инспекторами МАГАТЭ и приостановил 60-дневные циклы сокращения своих обязательств по соглашению" - об этом главная заметка 519-го номера бюллетеня Ядерный Контроль.

03.12.2019

Американским инспекторам продемонстрировали ракетный комплекс «Авангард». Если вести переговоры честно, США уже не могут сказать, что Россия отказалась проявить гибкость и принять во внимание их озабоченность по поводу новых российских систем вооружений. Поможет ли такой шаг со стороны Москвы продлить ДСНВ? В 516 номере бюллетеня «Ядерный Контроль» мы подобрали материалы, которые отражают часть экспертной дискуссии по этому вопросу в двух столицах.

Все Новости

Эксперт

Баклицкий Андрей Александрович image
ФИО: Баклицкий Андрей Александрович
Местоположение: Москва
Место работы: ПИР-Центр
Должность: Консультант
Экспертизы:
Атомная энергетика на Ближнем Востоке
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерная программа Ирана
Ближний Восток
Биография:

Научный сотрудник Центра глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической академии МИД России. Выпускник факультета международных отношений Уральского федерального университета. Специалист в области регионоведения. В 2008-2009 гг. проходил обучение в Университете Севильи (Испания). Стажер ПИР-Центра с мая по июль 2011 г. Выпускник Международной Летней школы по проблемам безопасности 2011. В 2011-2013 гг. — Руководитель Интернет-проекта ПИР-Центра, c 2013 — Директор информационных проектов ПИР-Центра. В 2014-2017 гг. - Директор программы "Россия и ядерное нераспространение". Участник сессий подготовительного комитета к Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2013-2014 гг. и Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2015 г. Редактор Белой Книги ПИР-Центра «Десять шагов к зоне, свободной от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке», редактор доклада «Иран в региональном и глобальном контексте». Сфера научных интересов: международная безопасность, большой Ближний Восток, ядерная энергетика и ядерное нераспространение. 09/17

Архив публикаций

Комментарии эксперта

Стратегическая стабильность в ее классическом понимании – состояние отношений между Россией и США, при котором у сторон отсутствуют стимулы для нанесения первого ядерного удара – была выработана между двумя странами в ходе холодной войны. Такого рода стабильность обеспечивается путем действий, «повы...

После того, как США и Россия заявили о выходе из Договора о ракетах средней и меньшей дальности (ДРСМД), украинские политики заявили об открывающихся для страны возможностях. В эксклюзивном интервью для «Ядерного Контроля» директор Одесского центра по вопросам нераспространения ядерного оружия Полин...

Все Статьи
loading