News

27.05.2013

“One. The United States supports the goal of creating a nuclear- and WMD-free-zone in the Middle East. It will be difficult but it is achievable. Two. The United States supports the convening of a conference in Helsinki to begin such a discussion and such a process. This is also difficult, much less difficult, and it could happen very rapidly, provided the states of the region are prepared to engage each other directly into terming an agenda,” - US Assistant Secretary of State for International Security and Nonproliferation Thomas Countryman.

09.10.2012

"Creation of a Zone Free of Weapons of Mass Destruction in the Middle East is inseparably linked to the ongoing Middle East peace process. Luckily there is a feedback as well: development of sustained dialogue on the Zone can in turn facilitate the Middle East peace process, leading to creation of favorable atmosphere for further negotiations" - Deputy Foreign Minister of the Russian Federation, Security Index Journal Editorial Board member Sergey Ryabkov.

06.09.2012

On October 4th, 2012 PIR Center will hold an international seminar “2012 Conference on the Middle East Zone Free of Weapons of Mass Destruction – Searching for Solutions”.

All News

Expert

Al-Assad Wael image
Name: Al-Assad Wael
Affiliation: Representative of the Secretary General for Disarmament and Regional Security and the Director of Disarmament and Multilateral Relations at the League of Arab States
Expertise:
Nuclear power in the Middle East
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Nuclear energy sector
Iranian nuclear program
Biography :

Ambassador Wael Al-Assad is currently the Representative of the Secretary General for Disarmament and Regional Security and the Director of Disarmament and Multilateral Relations at the League of Arab States. Al-Assad is responsible for coordinating Arab positions on arms control and disarmament issues at different international forums and proposing policies to Arab League’s Council at the ministerial and summit levels. He co-chairs the “Arab Governmental Committee on Elaborating a Draft Treaty on a Nuclear Weapons and Other WMD Free Zone in the Middle East” since 1996. Ambassador Al-Assad has worked for over 38 years in different specialized agencies and organizations within the Arab League System. He is a member of a number of think tanks and has a number of published researches, papers, and articles.

loading

Новости

27.05.2013

«Во-первых, Соединенные Штаты поддерживают цель создания зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия и оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке. Этого будет сложно добиться, но это возможно. Во-вторых, Соединенные Штаты поддерживают созыв конференции в Хельсинки с целью дать начало дискуссии и самому процессу. Это тоже будет непросто, но значительно проще, чем выполнить первый пункт. И созвать конференцию можно будет очень быстро, при условии, что государства региона будут готовы напрямую договариваться друг с другом о ее повестке», – помощник госсекретаря США по вопросам международной безопасности и нераспространения Томас Кантримен.

09.10.2012

«Создание зоны, свободной от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке неразрывно связано с ближневосточным мирным процессом. Но есть и обратная связь: развитие поступательного диалога по зоне, в свою очередь, может служить интересам достижения ближневосточного урегулирования, создания для этого благоприятной атмосферы», – заместитель министра иностранных дел России, член редакционной коллегии журнала Индекс Безопасности Сергей Рябков.

06.09.2012

4 октября 2012 г. ПИР-Центр проводит международный семинар «Конференция  2012 г. по созданию зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия и других видов ОМУ, на Ближнем Востоке – в поиске конструктивных решений».

Все Новости

Эксперт

Аль Ассад Ваэль image
ФИО: Аль Ассад Ваэль
Место работы: директор, Департамент по разоружению и многосторонним отношениям, Лига арабских государств
Экспертизы:
Атомная энергетика на Ближнем Востоке
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Атомная энергетика
Ядерная программа Ирана
Биография:

Посол Ваэль аль-Асад в настоящее время является представителем Генерального секретаря по вопросам разоружения и региональной безопасности и директор по разоружению и многосторонним отношениям в Лиге арабских государств. Аль-Асад несет ответственность за координацию арабских позиций по контролю над вооружениями и разоружению на различных международных форумах и продвигает политику Совет Лиги арабских государств на уровне министров и на высшем уровне. С 1996 г. он является сопредседателем «арабской Правительственной комиссии по разработке проекта Договора о создании зоны свободной от ядерного оружия и других ОМУ на Ближнем Востоке». Посол Аль-Асад более 38 лет работал в различных специализированных учреждениях в системе Лиги арабских государств. Он является членом ряда аналитических центров и имеет ряд опубликованных исследований, докладов и статей.

loading