PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

05.08.2022

PIR Center continues a new section "PIR Test". This project in the form of a game carries equally educational, research and analytical meaning. Users are given the opportunity to take the test - to answer one of the designated questions. Our today's PIR Test is dedicated to the international document that is considered to be the very first to become the forerunner of the modern arms control system.

01.08.2022

PIR Center is taking part in the 10th NPT Review Conference on August 1-26, 2022, where for almost a month at the UN headquarters in New York, delegations from 191 signatory countries of the NPT will discuss the implementation of this important agreement in the field of international security.

27.07.2022

This research paper attempts to place nuclear disarmament and arms control in the context of the sustainable development agenda. In particular, the paper examines the possibility of applying the experience and specific mechanisms of the 1997 Kyoto Protocol to create new incentives for nuclear arms control and disarmament. Considering the devastating environmental consequences of nuclear weapons use, the nuclear-weapon states should take responsibility for possessing nuclear weapons just as they took responsibility for carbon emissions.

27.07.2022

The 2022 Review Conference of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons, inherited from covid 2020 and repeatedly postponed due to the raging pandemic, opens in New York on August 1. Four weeks of work of the NPT member States delegations – what will it be: a breakthrough to a more reliable cementing of the Treaty? Beating around the bush and straining to demonstrate its own indispensability? Or a harsh disputes that will call into question both the value and the effectiveness of this document?

Training course for university professors and research institutes staff 2013

NEW GLOBAL SECURITY REALITY: THE CHANGING NATURE OF THREATS IN THE XXI CENTURY

March 26-30 2013

From March 26-30, 2013 in Moscow, the PIR Center hosted an educational course for teachers from institutes of higher education in the CIS “The New Reality of Global Security: The Changing Nature of Threats in the 21st Century”. Program participants included faculty from 15 different universities in Russia (Vladivostok, Novosibirsk, Tyumen, Voronezh, Ekaterinburg, Moscow), Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Kazakhstan, Tadjikistan, and Kyrgyzstan who study nonproliferation and international security.

Thanks to financial support from our partners, the PIR Center was able to gather representatives from research and educational centers in the CIS for the first time in ten years in order to share information and opinions on key tendencies in nonproliferation, arms control, nuclear energy, nuclear security, global internet governance, and information security.

Orlov and Berls

In an address to the course participants, PIR Center President Vladimir Orlov noted: “Those gathered here are our colleagues – those who teach courses and write research papers on international security issues on a daily basis. Today it is important we learn how to work with a new audience. What can we give the next generation of students, diplomats, and military officers? I believe that knowledge and skills are necessary for independent and critical approaches to solving these common problems.”

Robert Berls, Director of the Moscow office for the Nuclear Threat Initiative, a partner organization of the PIR Center, said: “You have a very fascinating week ahead of you. I wish you the best of luck in your work and hope that in this week you are able to enrich your knowledge and strengthen your achievements as effective teachers and researchers in your organizations.”

Course lecturers consisted of a number of the PIR Center’s leading experts, including PIR Center President Vladimir Orlov, who presented an in-depth analysis of developments in the nonproliferation regime since 1995, of the nonproliferation policies of Russia and other CIS states, and gave an evaluation of the present state of the NPT review process.

MapPIR Center Senior Vice President Evgeny Buzhinsky highlighted issues with arms control for new types of weaponry. The theme of Senior Research Associate at the PIR Center Vadim Kozyulin’s presentation was an analysis of the recently-concluded conference on the Arms Trade Treaty (in Russian). PIR Center Board Member and Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of World Economy and International Relations Natalia Kalinina questioned why chemical and biological security, regardless of their true threat, remain on the periphery and get little attention in international security educational programs.

Nuclear security came up on multiple occasions. It was discussed by Director of the International Center for Nuclear Training at MEPhI Victor Murogov in the context of his talk about the current state of nuclear energy around the world, while Dr. Orlov discussed the risks of nuclear terrorism.

The Head of the International Cooperation Department at the Federal Financial Monitoring Service Alexei Petrenko presented on a very new topic, one that has yet to be incorporated into educational programs – “Problems in Countering Money Laundering and Terrorism Financing. Russia’s 2013-2014 Chairmanship of FATF.”

Another novel topic that received piqued participants' interest was PIR Center "International Information Security and Global Internet Governance" Program Coordinator Oleg Demidov's presentation on key issues in the field and approaches to their solution.

Smth

The course participants dwelled on two key regional nonproliferation issues in particular. PIR Center Research Associate Andrey Baklitsky evaluated development perspectives for nuclear energy in the Middle East, as well as the establishment of a regional WMD-free zone. Meanwhile, Vladimir Orlov shared his views on the issues surrounding Iran’s nuclear program. One of Russia’s most experienced experts, Head of the Korea and Mongolia Department in the Institute of Oriental Studies of the Russian Academy of Sciences (RAS) Alexander Voronstov, explained in depth the origins of the situation on the Korean peninsula.

The course also included a seminar where participants were able to share their experiences teaching disciplines related to nonproliferation and international security. The seminar was led by Ildar Akhtamzyan, Associate Professor in the International Relations and Foreign Policy department at MGIMO, and Nataliya Piskunova, an expert with the Institute for Economic Strategies.

EveryoneParticipants’ goals upon arrival in Moscow for the course included professional development, opening up new topics, becoming familiar with the opinions of Russian experts, and discussions with colleagues. Judging by the course evaluations, many of these goals came to fruition.

“The course is defined by its high-level orientation to applied questions on disarmament, nonproliferation, and security. The course content is filled to the maximum with the most current information. I would also mention the all-around presentation of materials – a combination of visual aids and lectures. The discussions also had great meaning. The students and experts came across as true professionals in their fields,” said Ivan Zolotukhin, Director of the principle educational program “International Relations,” Far East Federal University.

Vera Gavrilova, Senior Lecturer, Department of International Relations and Regional Studies, Novosibirsk State Technical University,  laid special emphasis on the opportunity of enriching contacts with colleagues from CIS states: “What sets this course apart from others is that it brings in teachers and experts from Central Asian countries, allowing for an exchange of best practices and discussion of possibilities for further partnership with these colleagues.”

Nuria Kutnaeva, Vice-President of Academic Affairs, International University in Central Asia, paid attention to the same issue: “The course was very interesting and cognitive, allowing me to update my knowledge of nuclear issues. It was remarkable to be able to take the first steps toward establishing a network of experts in nonproliferation between international relations departments.”

On the last day of the course the participants attended the Cold War museum "Bunker 42."

Pictures from the PIR Center are available on the program website, as well as on our Facebook page.

For more information regarding the PIR Center’s Education and Training Program, please contact the program director Albert Zulkharneev by phone +7 (495) 987-19-15, fax +7 (495) 987-19-14, or e-mail: zulkharneev at pircenter.org

loading

PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

05.08.2022

ПИР-Центр продолжает рубрику "ПИР-Тест". Данный проект в игровой форме несёт в равной степени образовательный и научно-практический смысл. Пользователям предоставлена возможность пройти тест – ответить на один из обозначенных вопросов. Cегодняшний ПИР-Тест посвящен международному документу, который считается самым первым, ставшим предтечей современной системы контроля над вооружениями.

05.08.2022

19 июня 2022 г. на ХХI Международной школе ПИР-Центра по проблемам глобальной безопасности прошла панельная дискуссия на тему «Евразия в условиях инфогенных угроз и гибридных войн: куда нас ведут глобальные трансформации?» Лекторами выступили Дмитрий Евстафьев, профессор факультета коммуникаций, медиа и дизайна, Департамент интегрированных коммуникаций, ВШЭ, член Редакционной коллегии журнала «Индекс Безопасности» и Дмитрий Тренин, член СВОП, РСМД, Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра. Видеозапись доступна по ссылке.

04.08.2022

Елена Карнаухова назначена на должность заместителя директора ПИР-Центра – директора Образовательной программы. В новой должности Елена будет заниматься вопросами стратегического развития организации и продолжит курирование образовательных проектов ПИР-Центра, а также Экспертного совета, Совета ПИР-Центра и Международного клуба Триалог в качестве его ответственного секретаря.

01.08.2022

ПИР-Центр принимает участие в работе 10-й Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 1-26 августа 2022 г., где почти на протяжении месяца в штаб квартире ООН в Нью-Йорке делегации из 191 страны—подписанта ДНЯО будут обсуждать выполнение этого важнейшего соглашения в сфере международной безопасности.

Тренинговый курс для преподавателей высших учебных заведений стран СНГ

НОВАЯ РЕАЛЬНОСТЬ ГЛОБАЛЬНОЙ БЕЗОПАСНОСТИ: МЕНЯЮЩАЯСЯ ПРИРОДА УГРОЗ В XXI ВЕКЕ

26 – 30 марта 2013

26 – 30 марта 2013 г. в Москве состоялся образовательный курс ПИР-Центра для преподавателей высших учебных заведений стран СНГ «Новая реальность глобальной безопасности: меняющаяся природа угроз в XXI веке». В программе приняли участие 15 университетских преподавателей, непосредственно занимающихся вопросами нераспространения и международной безопасности из России (Владивосток, Воронеж, Екатеринбург, Москва, Новосибирск, Тюмень), Азербайджана, Казахстана, Киргизии, Таджикистана, Туркменистана, Узбекистана и Украины.

Благодаря поддержке партнеров программы, ПИР-Центр впервые за десять лет собрал представителей научных и образовательных центров стран СНГ для того, чтобы поделиться информацией и обменяться мнениями о ключевых тенденциях в сфере нераспространения, контроля над вооружениями, мирной атомной энергетики и ядерной безопасности, глобального управления интернетом и международной информационной безопасности.

Orlov and Burls

Обращаясь к участникам курса, президент ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов отметил: «Мы понимаем, что здесь собрались наши коллеги – именно те, кто ежедневно преподает в университетах и ведет научную работу в области международной безопасности. Сегодня нам важно понять, как работать с новой аудиторией. Что мы можем дать новому поколению студентов, дипломатов, офицеров? Думаю, прежде всего, знания и навыки, необходимые для самостоятельного и критического осмысления общих проблем».

Директор московского офиса фонда «Инициатива по сокращению ядерной угрозы» (NTI), который является одним из партнеров программы,  Роберт Берлс сказал на открытии программы: «Предстоит очень увлекательная неделя. Я желаю вам крупных успехов в вашей работе и надеюсь, что за эту неделю, проведенную здесь в ПИР-Центре, вы еще больше обогатите свои знания и укрепите свои достижения в качестве эффективных преподавателей и исследователей в своих организациях».

Перед слушателями выступили ведущие эксперты ПИР-Центра. Президент ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов представил анализ развития режима нераспространения с 1995 г., политики России и других стран СНГ в этой сфере,  оценил современное состояние обзорного процесса ДНЯО.

Проблемы контроля над новыми видами вооружений осветил старший вице-президент ПИР-Центра Евгений Бужинский. Анализу только что завершившейся конференции по Международному договору о торговле оружием было посвящено выступление старшего научного сотрудника ПИР-Центра Вадима Козюлина. Член Совета ПИР-Центра, главный научный сотрудник ИМЭМО РАН Наталия Калинина подняла вопросы химической и биологической безопасности, которые, несмотря на свою реальную значимость, остаются на периферии внимания в рамках образовательных программ по международной безопасности.

DiscussionОтдельно была рассмотрена тема ядерной безопасности. Директор Международного центра ядерного образования НИЯУ «МИФИ» Виктор Мурогов осветил ее в контексте развития мирной атомной энергетики, а Владимир Орлов обсудил с участниками риски ядерного терроризма.

Совершенно новой, пока не вошедшей в университетские курсы, стала тема «Проблемы противодействия отмыванию денег и финансированию терроризма. Председательство России в ФАТФ в 2013-2014 гг.», которую представил  начальник Управления международных связей Федеральной службы по финансовому мониторингу Алексей Петренко.

Еще одной новинкой курса, получившей высокую оценку участников, стала лекция координатора программы ПИР-Центра Олега Демидова «Глобальное управление интернетом и международная информационная безопасность – ключевые проблемы и подходы к их решению».

Speech

Участники курса остановились на двух ключевых региональных проблемах нераспространения. Научный сотрудник ПИР-Центра Андрей Баклицкий оценил перспективы развития атомной отрасли на Ближнем и Среднем Востоке и создания Зоны, свободной от оружия массового уничтожения на Ближнем Востоке, Владимир Орлов поделился своим видением иранской проблемы. Подробно о происхождении и развитии ядерной проблемы Корейского полуострова рассказал один из наиболее опытных российских экспертов, заведующий отделом Кореи и Монголии Института Востоковедения РАН Александр Воронцов.

В рамках курса прошел семинар по обмену опытом в преподавании дисциплин, связанных с вопросами нераспространения и международной безопасности, при участии доцента МГИМО(У) МИД РФ Ильдара Ахтамзяна и эксперта Института экономических стратегий Натальи Пискуновой.

All participantsПовышение квалификации, выход на новые темы, знакомство с позициями российских экспертов, общение с коллегами – о таких целях своего приезда в ПИР-Центр говорили участники перед налом курса. Судя по итоговым комментариям, многие из этих планов осуществились.

«Курс отличается высокой степенью ориентации на прикладные вопросы проблем разоружения, нераспространения и безопасности. Содержание курса максимально насыщено актуальной информацией. Большое значение имели дискуссии по изучаемым вопросам. Ученые и эксперты показали себя настоящими профессионалами своего дела», – отметил руководитель основной образовательной программы «Международные отношения» Дальневосточного федерального университета Иван Золотухин.

Вера Гаврилова, старший преподаватель Новосибирского государственного технического университета,  подчеркнула хорошую возможность для расширения контактов с коллегами из стран СНГ: «Отличительной особенностью является привлечение преподавателей, экспертов из стран Центральной Азии, что позволило обменяться опытом, обсудить ряд возможностей по дальнейшему сотрудничеству».

На этот же момент обратила внимание вице-президент по академическому управлению Международного университета в Центральной Азии (Бишкек, Киргизия) Нурия Кутнаева: «Курс был очень интересный, познавательный, который позволил обновить свои знания по ядерной проблематике. Замечательно, что мы сделали первые шаги по установлению сети экспертов в сфере нераспространения между кафедрами по международным отношениям».

В заключительный день курса слушатели посетили музей холодной войны «Бункер-42».

Фотографии с курса доступны на сайте нашей программы, на нашей страничке в Facebook

По вопросам получения дополнительной информации об Образовательной программе ПИР-Центра следует обращаться к директору программы Альберту Зульхарнееву по телефону +7 (495) 987-19-15, ф. +7 (495) 987-19-14, e-mail: zulkharneev at pircenter.org

loading