Chronology

The signing of the Protocol to the Treaty between the U.S. and the USSR on the Limitation of Anti-Ballistic Missile Systems. The Protocol reduced for each side from two to one the number of permitted ABM deployment areas.
03.07.1974
Niels Bohr writes a Memorandum to President Roosevelt where he expresses deep concerns about the likelihood of post-war disagreements between the states regarding the atomic issue.
03.07.1944
PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

02.07.2022

The creation of the P5 process is a positive step for the nonproliferation regime. For the first time in the history of the NPT, a permanent dialogue mechanism of official nuclear states on nonproliferation issues has been established. The goal of this research paper is to analyze the efforts of the nuclear five to ensure strategic stability. The relevance of the topic is dictated by the lack of specific multilateral mechanisms to maintain strategic stability.

30.06.2022

Iran and Argentina have applied to join the BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa) mechanism days after a summit of the five-nation bloc during which the leaders agreed to continue to discuss the possibility of admitting new countries to the grouping on the basis of "full consultation and consensus."

23.06.2022

On June 25, at 20:00 in Zvenigorod (Moscow region), as part of the Maslin Fest, the PIR Community is holding the First Charity Auction in support of the PIR Center Education & Training Program. Among the lots on display: unique materials from the 1990s, bibliographic and research rarities from our storerooms, books and magazines with autographs of the authors. To participate in the auction, it is enough to register for the Maslin Fest.

23.06.2022

On June 22, 2022, the XXI International School on Global Security for young professionals from Europe and the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS) was visited by Sergei Ryabkov, Deputy Minister of Foreign Affairs of Russia. He noticed the fundamental theses of the Russian foreign policy doctrine and assessed the current situation of the Russian Federation on the world stage and prospects for the development of relations with partners.

Experts

How many people work in the PIR Center? It is not so easy to answer this question at once, for the counts may differ. According to the staff list, it comes out around twenty employees. But what if you consider PIR Center Advisory Board members, as well as those who write for the PIR Center's periodicals, provide consulting services for its projects, and those that participate in lecture courses? Then the number will be over a hundred.

The PIR Center's highest authority is its Executive Board, uniting prominent Russian political scientists, experts in international affairs, economists, and public figures. The recommendations of members of the Executive Board, their experience and expertise in the problems concerning nongovernmental sector development trends in Russia and the world provide invaluable assistance in the strategic development of the Center and make a major contribution to the identification of areas for its long-term research activities.

In its research studies, the Center receives great support from the Advisory Board. Today, Advisory Board of the PIR Center brings together 74 individual and 10 corporate members - the leading Russian and international experts, governmental officials and business organizations, spokesmen for the interests of different countries, regions, continents, united by common idea - to promote a more stable, safer world. Advisory Board consists representatives of Russia, Kazakhstan, Great Britain, Germany, the United States, Norway, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Ireland, China, etc.

The PIR Center team combines knowledge, experience and youth to ensure the accomplishment of the Center's research, educational and publishing tasks. The Center's staff members include distinguished military experts – E. Maslin, E. Buzhinsky, V. Trubnikov - who for a long time have worked in Russian ministries and departments. The Center engages in its work young gifted people - students, graduates and promising scholars from various Russian regions and higher education institutions.

All this ensures high-level training and research activities carried out by the Center. The PIR Center has become a school that trains competent specialists not only for itself, but also for the leading Russian and foreign research organizations working in the area of international security, nonproliferation of WMD and arms control.

Experts trained by the PIR Center have worked at different times in the past and continue to do so at institutions such as Harvard University (USA), Geneva Center for Security Policy (Switzerland), Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO, Russia), Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI, Sweden), Center for Analysis of Strategies and Technologies (Russia), Center for Nonproliferation Studies of the Monterey Institute of International Studies (USA), Center for International Trade and Security at the University of Georgia (USA), and the Center for Defense Information (USA).

loading

Хронометр

ввод в действие в СССР первой в мире промышленной атомной электростанции (АЭС) в г. Обнинск Калужской обл
27.06.1954
PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

23.06.2022

25 июня в 20:00 в Звенигороде (Московская область) в рамках Маслин-феста Сообщество ПИР проводит I Благотворительный аукцион в поддержку Образовательной программы ПИР-Центра. Среди выставленных лотов: уникальные материалы 1990-х годов, библиографические и научные раритеты из наших запасников, книги и журналы с автографами авторов. Для участия в аукционе достаточно пройти регистрацию на Маслин-фест.

23.06.2022

22 июня 2022 г. XXI Международную школу ПИР-Центра по проблемам глобальной безопасности для молодых специалистов из стран Европы и СНГ посетил заместитель министра иностранных дел РФ Сергей Рябков. В своем выступлении заместитель министра иностранных дел оценил текущее положение РФ на мировой арене и перспективы развития отношений с партнерами, озвучив фундаментальные тезисы российской внешнеполитической доктрины.

22.06.2022

Заместитель министра иностранных дел России Сергей Рябков выступил перед участниками Школы ПИР-Центра 2022 г. с темой "Баланс ценностей и интересов: приоритеты России в области внешней политики на современном этапе". Публикуем текст его выступления.

21.06.2022

В интервью директора ПИР-Центра Владимира Орлова с журналистом испанской газеты El Mundo Хорхе Феррера затрагиваются вопросы рисков использования ядерного оружия на фоне украинского конфликта. Поговорили также о том, чем отличается чеховское ружьё от ядерного оружия, воспользуется ли Россия тактическим ядерным оружием на Украине, могут ли европейские дети нынче спать спокойно, американское или российское ядерное оружие представляет большую опасность глобальной безопасности, есть ли повод для оптимизма сегодня и какая раса придёт на смену нынешней немудрой человеческой расе.

Состав

Сколько человек работает в ПИР-Центре? На этот вопрос не просто ответить с ходу. Ведь как посчитать. Можно сказать по «штатному расписанию». Тогда получится, что около двадцати. А если учесть членов Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра, всех, кто пишут для периодических изданий ПИР-Центра, сотрудничают в качестве консультантов по проектам, участвуют в лекционных курсах Центра? Тогда число перевалит за сто.

Высший орган управления ПИР-Центра - его Совет, объединяющий известных российских политологов, ученых, экспертов-международников, экономистов, общественных деятелей. Рекомендации членов Совета, их опыт и экспертные знания проблем, касающихся мировых тенденций развития неправительственного сектора в России и мире, оказывают неоценимую помощь в вопросах стратегического развития организации, а также вносит основной вклад в определение перспективных направлений научно-исследовательской деятельности Центра.

Огромную помощь в научных исследованиях оказывает Экспертный совет. Экспертный совет ПИР-Центра объединяет 74 индивидуальных и 10 корпоративных членов – ведущих российских и международных экспертов, представителей государственной власти и бизнес-структур, выразителей интересов различных стран, регионов, континентов, объединенных общей идеей – способствовать установлению более стабильного, безопасного мира.  В состав совета входят представители России, Казахстана, Великобритании, Германии, Соединенных Штатов Америки, Норвегии, Шри-Ланки, Швейцарии, Ирландии, КНР и др.

Коллектив ПИР-Центра – это сплав знаний, опыта и молодости, позволяющий эффективно решать стоящие перед Центром научно-исследовательские, образовательные и издательские задачи. В Центре работают заслуженные эксперты в военной области –  генералы Е.П. Маслин, Е.П. Бужинский, В.И. Трубников с большим опытом работы в российских министерствах и ведомствах. К работе Центра активно привлекаются молодые и способные люди, главным образом, студенты и выпускники, перспективные ученые из различных регионов и ВУЗов России.

Все это обуславливает высокий уровень как подготовки Центром молодых специалистов, так и проводимых научно-исследовательских работ. ПИР-Центр по праву стал кузницей кадров не только для себя, но и для ведущих российских и зарубежный исследовательских организаций в области международной безопасности, нераспространения ОМУ и контроля над вооружениями.

Эксперты, подготовленные ПИР-Центром, в разное время работали или продолжают работать в Гарвардском университете (США), Женевском центре политики в области безопасности (Швейцария), Институте мировой экономики и международных отношений (ИМЭМО, Россия), Стокгольмском международном институте исследований проблем мира (СИПРИ, Швеция), Центр анализа стратегий и технологий (Россия), Центре исследований проблем нераспространения Монтерейского института международных исследований (США), Центре международной торговли и безопасности Университета штата Джорджия (США), Центре оборонной информации (США).

loading